Dijon Wine Reduction Lamb Chops

This is my first official blog post ever so I’m simultaneously saying welcome and apologizing! Bear with me as I figure this stuff out…..

I have always had a very real love affair with food. And not just food,  but wine and condiments (Dijon mustard being at the very top of that list) and pretty much everything else decadent in life. My love of food and drink is rivaled only by my love of the Gulf. Living here in Gulf Breeze gives me the awesome experience of combining the two, and that is what this blog is about. I have no formal culinary training (assuming hours of watching Top Chef and Chopped doesn’t count) and everything I know about cooking I learned watching TV or through trial and error. Sometimes I get it wrong, but sometimes I get it really, really right. So, I thought I’d share some of the right times, and I hope you enjoy!

Spring comes early down here (in the Florida panhandle). I don’t care what that stupid groundhog saw or didn’t see, whatever. It’s February 21st today and I’m wearing flip flops. Yesterday, I was on the beach in a bikini and cover up. But I digress….

Although it might seem early in the season to be cooking lamb chops, down here it already feels like mid Spring. Which must be why I was inspired to cook this dish tonight….

I served this with roasted Brussels sprouts and pancetta, and Yukon gold melting potatoes, both recipes I will post later….

Dijon Wine Reduction Lamb Chops

1 shallot, minced

1 tbs whole grain Dijon mustard

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup of white wine

1 lemon, juiced

12 French ribbed lamb chops

1 tbs fresh rosemary, chopped finely

1 tbs chives, chopped finely

1 tbs garlic, minced

2 tbs cold butter, cut into pats

Directions:

Salt and pepper lamb chops. Heat  1 tbs olive oil in large saute pan to med high heat. Cook lamb chops 2-3 mins, then flip and cook another 2-3 minutes. (Depending on how well you want them done. I like mine med rare.) Remove from pan, set aside and cover with foil to keep warm.

Add chicken stock and wine to deglaze pan, scraping all the good pieces off the bottom. Add shallot and garlic and allow sauce to simmer until reduced by half, stirring occasionally.

Stir in Dijon mustard, lemon juice and cut heat down to simmer. Add butter slowly, one pat at a time.  Once butter is incorporated completely, add chives and rosemary and cut heat off. Serve pork chops with sauce on top.

Leave a Reply

