Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Pancetta

brussels

Brussels sprouts. I remember my mom serving them steamed with a little butter as a child, and while they weren’t terrible, they definitely weren’t good. But at Mama’s house, that doesn’t matter. You ate what was on your plate or you didn’t leave the table. So fast forward 2o years and that’s how long it would be before I ate another one. These definitely aren’t your mother’s Brussels sprouts.

Disclaimer* My mother is a wonderful cook. The fact that Brussels sprouts just don’t taste good steamed, is in no way a reflection of her. I feel pretty sure that anyone whose Mom served them sprouts that way is agreeing with me at this very moment.

 

Bacon. Or Bacon’s favorite cousin, Pancetta. I’m partial to pancetta, but you can use whatever you’ve got. This recipe is so easy and so good. Something magical happens to Brussels sprouts when you roast them. The natural bitterness melts away and the outer leaves crisp up and you really don’t have to do anything to them. Sometimes when I make this dish, I do a quick balsamic vinegar reduction that I drizzle on top, but I think my favorite way is like this. This is a great week night quick and easy side dish that will become a staple at your house, like it has mine.

 

16835715_134991807021433_2083811552890671311_o

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Pancetta

1 lb bag fresh Brussels sprouts

1 tbs olive oil

5 oz pancetta, diced

salt and pepper to taste

fresh grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400. Move rack to upper most position. Wash sprouts, then cut off the hard stems on the bottom. Cut into halves or quarters. Toss with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Mix with pancetta. Arrange in a single layer on a cookie sheet or I used a cast iron. Bake about 10 minutes, when sprouts begin to brown. Gently turn them over, bake another 10 minutes or until they are brown and crispy. Remove from oven and serve, with freshly grated parmesan cheese on top.

Leave a Reply

