Scrambled Eggs and Chorizo

Yesterday, we celebrated Mardi Gras Pensacola style. It was one of those perfect days that are rare and wonderful- the weather was perfect, sunny and low 70’s, the kids had a great time, we were hanging out with friends drinking bloody Mary’s with all the fixin’s and beers from the stands on the sidewalks. After the 4 hour long grand parade, we left happy, a little bit buzzed, and loaded down with beads, moon pies, stuffed animals and cups.

16836713_138802869973660_2320845967961272000_o

That handsome guy on the far right is my husband, by the way. Am I lucky or what? Anyway, so after all that Mardi Gras fun and debauchery yesterday, I knew as soon as I opened my eyes this morning that I wanted something delicious and hearty for breakfast.

16904921_138801939973753_4488905815419543438_o
A picture of said debauchery…

There are few things I love more than salsa/ or Louisiana hot sauce on scrambled eggs. My children, maybe, but not much else. This breakfast goes great with both. The potatoes get nice and crispy, and the chorizo is nice with the eggs and cheese. I kept this pretty mild, but I would have cranked up the spice a little if my kids weren’t eating it too. I removed the chorizo from the casings and browned it in my cast iron pan, then set it aside leaving the small amount of grease in the pan to brown my potatoes and shallots in. For my potatoes, I had a half bag of baby Yukon gold potatoes that I’d been needing to use. Because baby potatoes are difficult to peel, I boiled them for about 12 minutes and then put them in an ice water bath. This makes the peel just slide right off. Then I diced them up. But you can use whatever kind of potatoes you want, just allow for extra time to cook them.

 

16836492_138823413304939_5699029239891826786_o

 

 

There’s tons of things you could add to these. Next time I think I’ll had some diced peppers too. Fresh tomatoes would be nice as well. A little jalapeno to kick up the heat a bit. Whatever floats your boat. These were delicious. Just what the doctor ordered after a day of indulging.

16804150_138823573304923_2503616420585708050_o

Scrambled Eggs and Chorizo

1 lb chorizo sausage

approximately half of 1.5 lb bag of baby Yukon gold potatoes, boiled, peeled and diced

1 shallot, sliced thin

8 eggs, beaten

4 oz manchego cheese, grated

tsp chives

1 clove of garlic, minced

a pinch of cumin

salt and pepper to taste

cayenne pepper, to your own liking

Directions:

Heat non stick pan on med high heat. (I prefer cast iron, but whatever you have.) Brown chorizo in pan, remove and set aside. Leave grease in pan. Add a little more oil, if necessary. Add shallot, garlic and potatoes to pan. Don’t stir too much, as you want them to get crispy and brown. Once they are almost brown enough, add eggs and cumin, chives and cayenne pepper, and 2 oz of the cheese. Salt and pepper to taste. Stir well, as the eggs scramble. Add the chorizo back in, mix well. Top with remaining cheese. Turn off heat. As the mixture sits in the pan, it will continue to crisp, so once it’s to your liking, remove it from the pan entirely. Serve with salsa and or Louisiana hot sauce.

One thought on “Scrambled Eggs and Chorizo

Leave a Reply

