Louisiana Crawfish Boil (Gulf Breeze Style)

This post is slightly delayed… in that, I meant to post this on this past Ash Wednesday, as I cooked this for dinner the night of Fat Tuesday. What can I say? Busy week. Although, also somewhat productive as I finally got our taxes filed. (Insert blah face here.) So, I love seafood. Seriously. Could eat it every meal. Raw oysters are up there at the top of my list. Ok, any oyster except for fried, is at the top of my list. (Oh and do I have some good recipes for baked oysters that I’ll have to share soon.) But one thing tops even oysters for me- crawfish. You just can’t beat a good and spicy, perfectly cooked crawfish.

17097191_143609912826289_5921591051483124895_o
After….
16991666_143609749492972_1559299580886069794_o
Before…..

 

They’re only in season from about December to June, so I do my best to eat as many as possible during that short time frame. In fact, I’ll be doing this again in a couple of weeks for my birthday. (It’s what I’m giving myself.) So, anyway, to do this you need an outdoor propane cooker, and a really big pot. Mine is a 40 qt but they come in all sorts of sizes. You also need lots of spices and some fresh lemons and then you can get as creative as you like with what vegetables/ sides you add. 

 

16992097_143610269492920_6672918057914894872_o

 

I put corn, potatoes, artichokes, conecuh sausage, and mushrooms in mine, but there are a lot of things that would work. Just add them in accordance to how long they take to cook.

 

 

Give it a try, you won’t be sorry. Here’s how to do it:

 

Louisiana Crawfish Boil (Gulf Breeze Style)

Ingredients:

Live Crawfish (approx 4-5 lbs per person), purged

1 small bag of red potatoes (I used fingerling potatoes because that’s what I had. Baby Yukon gold potatoes would be fine too.)

6 frozen corn nibblers

1 8 oz package mushrooms

1 1 lb package of smoked conecuh sausage cut into pieces

2 whole artichokes “topped”

2 onions, quartered

2 lemons

2 naval oranges

6 cloves of garlic, peeled

6 boxes of Zatarain’s Crab Boil in bag

1 tbs Zatarain’s Concentrated liquid Shrimp and Crab boil

1 tbs whole grain mustard

2 tbs whole peppercorns

2 bay leaves

fresh thyme

Feel free to add some cayenne to kick up the heat. Once again, I am keeping it kid friendly.

Directions:

Fill 40 qt pot 3/4 full of water. Turn on propane cooker on high. Add all the spices listed above to the water, including the mustard. Half the lemons and oranges, squeeze the juice in the water and throw them in the pot too. Bring to a hard boil. Add potatoes and cut heat down a little, but continue to boil. Boil for 8-10 minutes. Add the artichokes, mushrooms, sausage, and onions. Continue to boil another 10 minutes. Add live crawfish. This will bring your water temperature down. When water returns to a boil, cut the heat off, add the frozen corn and let crawfish sit for approximately 20 – 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove/ drain everything from the pot, throw it on a table covered in newspapers, grab some paper towels and a cold beer (I like to dip my tails in Louisiana hot sauce too, and a little dijon mustard for my sausage so I bring that too.) and enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

