Crispy Roasted Chicken with Pan Gravy

Ok, let me start with a disclaimer- if you are looking for a blog with healthy, gluten free or vegan dishes, LEAVE NOW. I am SO not the blog for you. I believe food should be decadent and indulgent. Julia Child said it best:

“If you’re afraid of butter, use cream.”                   or 

“Cooking is like love; it should be entered into with abandon or not at all.”

She was a woman after my own heart. And my idol. Or Paula Deen, without the racism. (We share a love of butter and southern food, but the similarities end there.) This recipe is nothing short of decadent and it’s worth every. single. bite.

Let’s start with making my chicken stock. I threw what was left of a rotisserie chicken (the bones with a little fat and skin hanging on into a pot with some garlic, celery and carrots and white wine and water. Add in some fresh herbs (I had thyme, rosemary and some parsley.) A little salt and pepper. And I let it boil, then simmer and reduce. Seafood Stock (The full recipe. Substitute for chicken. In case you missed the link the last 2 times I posted it.) I continued to let this reduce on down way past where I would have for just plain chicken stock. Strain through a seive and set aside for later.  I trimmed any excess skin off my chicken thighs and set aside for later. Oh, yes. It’s like that. So, there’s probably chefs that would be horrified at my method of cooking these chicken thighs, but it comes out perfectly every time so whatever. I heated up my cast iron skillet with a little olive oil to med high heat. Once it was good and hot, I placed my chicken thighs in it, skin side down. I only used a little salt and pepper for seasoning. Cook for about 7 or 8 minutes, moving around and repositioning (but always leaving the skin side down, until they are nice and brown and the fat has begun to render.) I turned them over, let them cook for a minute or two then transferred to my roasting pain. I added some carrots that had been halved and some sliced yellow onion. I placed in my oven at 450 for about 30 minutes.

 

17159130_147428315777782_2528720937958360397_o

This is what they looked like going in. I set aside my cast iron skillet that I had browned the chicken in for later. After 30 minutes, I checked my chicken and as it was very close, I lifted my rack with my chicken out of my pan and scraped all that goodness into my cast iron skillet. There were delicious bit of caramelized onion too. Be still my heart. I put my rack back in my pan, let it cook 5 more minutes, then removed it from heat and let it rest. While it was resting, I turned up my heat on my skillet to med high heat and added the trimmed chicken skin. Once it was brown and crispy, I removed it and cut my heat down to med. I took about half the carrots and onions that I’d roasted with my chicken, and diced them up. To my skillet, I added some minced shallot, and then once it began to turn translucent, some garlic, and then my diced carrots and onions. After they’d cooked a couple of minutes, I added some white wine. What wine, you ask?

 

17159052_147428369111110_3406276071326164399_o

This wine. About 3/4 cup. I let it reduce to almost no liquid, then added about 1/2 cup of water and again, let it reduce. Then I added my chicken stock and cut my heat down to low and let it simmer. I chopped up my beautiful crispy chicken skins and threw them in too. Once it reached my desired consistency, I removed it from the heat and served it on top of my chicken and a big, beautiful pile of creamed potatoes. Unbelievable. My husband’s exact words were “incredible”, in fact.

16991625_147428329111114_1934143650963518495_o

 

Crispy Roasted Chicken with Pan Gravy

Ingredients:

8 chicken thighs, or 2 pkgs

2 carrots, peeled and halved

1 small yellow onion, sliced

3/4 c white wine

3/4 c chicken stock

1 shallot, finely diced

 2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 c water

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450. Wash chicken thighs, remove any excess pieces of skin and set aside. Pat the thighs dry with paper towel and season with salt and pepper. Heat skillet to med high with a little olive oil. Add chicken, skin side down. Cook for 8 – 10 minutes, moving around a bit to brown evenly. Once nice and golden, turn them over, cook 2 minutes then transfer to a roasting rack in a roasting pan. Add carrots and onions. Roast for 30 minutes. Heat same skillet back to med high heat, add chicken skin that you’d set aside earlier and let it get good and crispy. Remove and chop. Remove chicken on rack from pan, set aside. Scrape pan drippings into skillet. Remove about half of the onion and carrots and dice. Put chicken back in for another 5 minutes or so, or until internal temp reaches 165 degrees with a meat thermometer. Add shallots, garlic, and carrots and onions to skillet. Stir frequently. Add in white wine, cut heat down to med. Let reduce until almost all the liquid is gone. Add water. Again, reduce until liquid is gone. Stir in chicken stock and once reduced to desired consistency, remove from heat. Serve over chicken and creamed potatoes. My recipe for my tried and true creamed potatoes is here: Perfect Creamed Potatoes

 

 

Leave a Reply

